Discussing the 25 man Roster

Hello Twins fans. Today, I’m going to give you my thoughts on the 25 man roster. First, I’ll list the players on the roster. Then, we’ll discuss in more detail anyone I thought could have been on the final 25.

First, the Roster.

Starting Pitchers:

Carl Pavano

Fransisco Liriano

Nick Blackburn

Brian Duensing

Scott Baker

Bullpen

Kevin Slowey

Joe Nathan

Matt Capps

Jeff Manship

Jose Mijares

Glen Perkins

Dusty Hughes

Infielders:

Justin Morneau

Tsuyoshi Nishioka

Alexi Casilla

Danny Valencia

Matt Tolbert

Outfielders

Michael Cuddyer

Jason Kubel

Denard Span

Delmon Young

Jason Repko

DH:

Jim Thome

For the most part, the roster doesn’t have any surprises. However, I’d like to note a few things. I actually felt that Kyle Waldrop could have been on the final 25 given that he pitched pretty well this spring. I think in the end, the Twins wanted the pitchers who have had major league experience to be on the team to start the season. Second, Matt tolbert is the utility player. You could take Luke Hughes over Tolbert because of Hughes’s offensive numbers. However, the decision came down to who can play shortstop better.

I’d also like to take a little look at who could be called up. Let’s list the ones who I think will most likely be called up.

Pitchers:

David Bromberg

Alex Burnette

Jim Hoey

Infielders

Luke Hughes

Trevor Plouffe

Outfielders

Ben Revere

These are just a few of the names that strike me at the moment as being likely call ups. One thing I will note is that there are only 2 catchers currently listed on the 40 man roster. However, I think if we do need a catcher to come up and replace one of them, the Twins will call up the one who’s playing the best in the higher levels of the minor leagues.

I also didn’t include Kyle Gibson in my list of likely call ups. I think he needs to spend another season in the minors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

