My Thoughts On Spring Training So Far

Hello Twins fans. I thought I’d give you some of my thoughts on some of the things that have happened in Spring Training thus far. So far through 10 Grape fruit league games, the Twins are 5-5. However, I’m not as concerned with wins and losses as I am with individual performances.

To start with, both Justin Morneau and Joe Mauer have been playing in games. Mauer is hitting at a .231 clip in 5 games. Morneau is batting at a .214 clip in five games I think we need to see how these two hit in more games before deciding anything, but it’s good that they’re both playing.

Alexi Cassiilla has done well at the plate this Spring, hetting 7 hits in 16 at bats. Denard Span is also doing well this Spring after missing most of the second half of last season due to concussion symptoms. He has 5 hits in 13 at bats.

As for Tsuyoshi Nishioka, he’s doing fine at the plate in 6 games with a batting line of .278/.278/.389. However, I’m a little concerned about his defense where he’s trying to go after the ball too aggressively rather than letting it come to him. I think there’s the possibility that he may be sent to Rochester to start the season.

As for pitching, I think Jared Burton and Matt Maloney have a good shot of making the club. Maloney has not allowed any runs and has struck out five batters in his three outings. Burton has also done well, allowing only three runs in three innings of pitching. However, he’s not on the 40 man roster. Another veteran, Jeff Gray, has only pitched in one game and didn’t allow a run in that outing.

Also, don’t look for Jason Bulger to be on the big club come opening day if he keeps on pitching like he has, allowing 9 runs in one inning of pitching and has allowed 5 walks. I actually thought he could be a candidate for a bullpenh spot, but now I’m not so sure.

As for the Rule 5 draft pick, Terry Doyle, he gave up 7 hits and 2 runs in yesterdays outing. I personally don’t think he will be on the opening day roster, but I think he’s still worth keeping an eye on since the Twins would have to offer him back to the White Sox if they don’t have him on the 25 man roster come opening day.

And a note on that third catcher. J.R. Towles could be a possible candidate for the third catcher spot. So far this spring, he’s gotten 2 hits in 5 at bats with 1 HR. However, he will have to keep this up in order to knock Drew Butera off the opening day roster.

I also would like to comment on the new voice of the Twins, Corey Provus. I think that he’s done well in calling the spring training games on the radio andI’d have to say that him and Dan Gladden have already developed a solid chemistry.

And, one other thing. I was a guest on fellow Twins blogger Seth’s stoh’s weekly Twins podcast almost a couple of weeks ago. We talked things Twins baseball. It’s an interesting conversation and you can listen to it at here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Thoughts On Spring Training So Far

  1. Michael Fishman says:

    As much as I don’t like Drew Butera, I’m not sure Towles offers anything in the way of an improvement. I’m also enjoying Corey Provus. He has a “professional” voice, if that makes sense, and usually I don’t like that in a baseball announcer, but he’s been doing very well.

Leave a Reply

